2 parties, 2 cakes: part 2

image

A whie back I posted about my sister’s god daughter who had two birthday parties for her birthday. Well, this was the second cake, for the family party.

This party was a mermaid theme so I attempted a cake to look like scales on a mermaid. The cake has a slight ombré to it, with the scales getting slightly darker towards the bottom. For this all I did was cut out lots of circles that got slightly smaller. I layered up from the bottom, once the bottom row was covered I moved up; placing the next row of circles in between the circles beneath. I had covered the sides of the sponge with buttercream to help the icing to stick.

12244023_10153294261988367_2023129863_n

I also cut out two star fish and sprinkled the icing with glitter to finish it off. Three plastic mermaids were added to the top of the cake at the party along with 3 candles. I think this cake looks quite elegant…I wonder how it would look in white as a tier on a wedding cake?

fran-signature

 

Leave a Reply

